Asthma/Allergies & Workouts

**I didn't see a health-specific forum so please move to correct one if I missed it.

Yesterday I forgot my inhaler and holy crapsticks, I remembered why I need to grab that thing as though it were the all important phone/MP3 player each time.  Thankfully I'm just starting out and it was only a 20 min cycle on the stationary otherwise I would not have made it through.

Does anyone else have to deal with asthma or allergies?  Usually it isn't so bad but the fireworks the past week, and especially last night, have really set things off to the point that I am dreading getting started on my workout this morning.  I will probably use the inhaler before, during and after to get through, but it's just frustrating.

I have allergies so bad that I get shots AND take antihistamine. Boo.

I've had asthma since I was a kid. Exercise, heat, humidity, cold, illness, fear induced. It sucks. Took daily meds for years. Finally had enough and stopped the meds upped the endurance and learnd to control breathing. Went off daily meds w pulmonologist blessing. I still use my inhaler as prophylaxis when running or if it's really hot or cold out and I'm exercising outside.

I AM going the distance

'Cause all I wanna do is go the distance. Nobody's ever gone the distance with Creed, and if I can go that distance, you see, and that bell rings and I'm still standin', I'm gonna know for the first time in my life, see, that I weren't just another bum from the neighborhood.

I make a living treating lungers, and the almost universal answer for the asthmatic is to be compliant with your drugs. Pick up a new inhaler now and stash your partial in your glove box for just this scenario. Are you taking maintenance inhalers or just rescue? If you aren't on maintenance drugs then your doc is trapped in the 80s and needs to either update or be replaced. Maintenance inhalers should keep you from getting that rough unless something really awful happens.

My training log