Kyellan -- Staring Down the Dragon

This thread is for me to record the things I'm proudest of, on the days when I really feel like I'm staring down the dragon. It'll also contain some weak moments, of that I am certain, because this thread isn't about image, it's about truth.

Now see, I love dragons--I hate the stereotypes, about how they're awful monsters that do nothing but wreck stuff. On the other hand, I like to think of a dragon as a colossal, immovable object with a smoky, golden-eyed stare and unfathomable wisdom.

My dragon is my weight. I've been carrying it around for 23 years, sometimes more, sometimes less. A combination of a badly-timed pre-growth bulk up at age six (first grade sucked, y'all) and my burgeoning nerd-nature meant that instead of staying active like I had when I was very young, I withdrew inward, and took comfort in food. Boy, I love food. Still do! =)

It's only since I found Nerd Fitness that I realized what my weight truly is--it's the suit of armor that my actual self is carrying as training weight. It's a heavy one, no doubt, at somewhere over 50 lbs. It's served well over the years, making sure that I hardly ever took chances, rarely got hurt, and always served as an excuse to myself why I couldn't do something. Never got into theater, because I was too heavy. Never continued with karate, because it was too hard. Countless excuses over two decades. I feel very lucky to be married to a wonderful person who saw through it, and lucky to be relatively happy in my life, but now it's time.

It's finally time to stare down the dragon, and take the armor off.

I think he's proud of me today.

-----------------------------------------

9/19/2014

I named a goal for this week: 4 sets of 10 pushups in a single workout. 6 months ago, I couldn't do 5.

Today I did 40 pushups in a single workout.

-----------------------------------------

9/20/2014