Hello, nerds!

I've been dipping in and out of the blog for a few months now and finally decided to sign up in here, too. A bit about me...

I'm 25 years old, just over 5'4" and weighing around 52kg (I'm English and we use kilos, but that's about 114lbs to those who prefer the imperial system). I've always been very small, and what little weight I do pack goes straight to my bum and thighs, which is okay I guess, as it gives me something to shake when dancing. Well-intentioned comments like, "You're so skinny! Ohmygod eat more!" have always got my goat, and I hate it when people take away my goat. That said, one of my aims is to get bigger (stronger) and just generally more kickass, because being the small, dainty, feeble girl in a group of people isn't all that fun. Also, I've always admired strong women.

About a year and a half ago I went through a bit of a tough time and started Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, where the guy kept going on and on at me to do some exercise as it supposedly boosts levels of the "happy hormone", and so I gave it a go and started doing some short 20-minutes-a-day workouts. I didn't really take to them very well, but I kept going with it, and then a little over a year ago I discovered weight training. I fell in love, and now I'm doing 4-5 days a week (3-4 days lifting, and on the final day some yoga).

My lifts aren't particularly impressive, but when I started out I could barely do one modified push-up, whereas now I can do around 20 normal ones. (Properly. None of those Michelle Obama push-ups.) I've gained weight in the form of muscle, and I look and feel better, so that whole thing about the happy hormone must be true. I've adjusted my diet, cut down on junk to the point where I now allow myself one treat a week, and upped my protein intake significantly. As a vegetarian and a chocolate junkie this has been tough.