Hi my name is Kent, and I like to eat food :D

Hi guys, 

I have been reading the nerd fitness blog for some time now, probably about two years, and this is my first time to reach out to the online community. 

My wake up call as far as fitness goes started when I started my career as a correctional officer for the state of Arkansas. Between having to sprint six flight of stairs to assist another officer who needed me (can anyone say hero complex?) and watching offenders complete body weight routines that numbered in over 1500 pushups and squats a day... every day, I finally looked in the mirror and Saw what was really there. A nice cheerful kid who was woefully out of shape.

Out of High School I was big... but big intimidating. A 6'6" 260 pound man who regularly jogged 4-6 miles, martial artist. I could complete 75 sit ups in under two minutes, and about 40 push ups. I sustained a back injury my first semester of college ending my dreams, and that lost of vision slowly sent me into a tail dive. I moved back in with my parents, and took a night job to pay bills and continued to attempt school full time. I coped with mountains of ice cream and pizza, and by the time the first year was up I weighed 370 pounds. Through the creative use of cognitive dissidence I managed to never really see the changes and no one slapped me hard enough to wake me up. When I started working at the prison I weighed about 423.

When I saw myself in the mirror I realized that I had slipped farther than I had ever dreamed possible. I disgusted myself. So I started making changes. Packing lunches instead of eating out, more fruit less candy. No ice cream or diet sodas. I started to come back to my old self inside at first and slowly on the outside. I found nerd fitness, which rang a chord with me, a long time RPG, FPS gamer and fantasy reader. I then started martial arts again, had to buy new clothes twice got my weight back down to 306. I was going all the way.