My Creation Myth (Luthien Joins the Rebellion)

Hello, Rebels!

I'm Luthien, and I'm new here. :)

I've been reading NF for a long time, but finally decided to join in the fun! Here's a little bit about me:

I was skinny until about age 10, and then the poor health habits of my family started to show up on my body. 15 years later, the struggle is still real. When I graduated from college three years ago, my weight was the most out of control that it's been...ever. In fact, I can barely look at pictures from my college graduation (and best friend's wedding) without cringing. Since then, I've lost close to 20 lbs., just through eating less junk and exercising occasionally. Right now, I tend to fluctuate within 5 lbs. (+/-) of a number, depending on how well (or how poorly) I've been caring for my body.

In my family, there wasn't a good model of what a healthy meal looked like, so even after I moved away for college, it took a long time before I actually understood (1) how to cook, and (2) what "healthy" meant (you mean I shouldn't drench my salads in Ranch???). Now, I really enjoy healthy cooking, and love looking up new recipes to try--ask me about Bacon-Acorn Squash "Burgers"....yum!

My favorite type of exercise is dance - in almost any form, but I also enjoy yoga, walking (I live very close to a large, lovely park), and bodyweight strength-building (though this is still new for me).

As I just reached my 25th birthday, I'm ready to get serious about being healthy and getting in shape. I'm tired of making excuses for myself, and believing that it's not possible to change what my body looks like. Not only this, but part of my immediate motivation is a trip to Europe in October. I want to be able to wear sleeveless shirts/dresses without being embarrassed, and also to have pictures from the trip that I can look on and enjoy seeing myself with friends in cool places.

So, with that being said, here are some other things you should know about me: