Hi,  this is my first time on the boards and I'm excited to meet like minded, motivating and positive new peeps.  I started my fitness quest after I realized that if I didn't change my ways, my parents were going to have to bury me.  I was an uncontrolled diabetic [A1c = 9.2], on insulin and about 3 other meds, using a c-pap at night because my weight was crushing me and cutting off my breathing.  I would be so winded after 1 salsa dance that my legs would give out.  I was 5'6" and ~252 lbs [114.3 kg].  

I am currently going to a supervised diet plan that encompasses not just weight loss but they have behaviorist, exercise physiologist, as well as medical doctors to help you adjust your plan.  I've also changed my diet to paleo and am loving it.  I never realized that I was allergic to SOY and legumes.  As soon as I cut them out of my diet - my skin cleared up and I lost ~7 inches off my abdomen.

I reached my weight goal of 165 lbs [74.8 kg].  my A1c = 5, which means I'm totally off all of my insulin and only on 1 tablet of medication [my vitamins now out number my medications]  But now I feel the "hard part" begins -- meal planning, budgeting, and coming to terms with my new body.  Sometimes I feel like a baby giraffe -- gawky and awkward.  

My goal is to be able to dance all night.  I love to dance salsa and am learning West Coast Swing.  There are many workshops were you take classes all day and then open dancing from 9 pm to 4 am.  I'd like to be able to do that.  So, I think endurance strength training (with bodyweight) and vinyansa yoga intrigues me.  I'm also considering taking a kinesiology class(es) about movement in general and nutrition to bulk up my mental muscles too.  

I'd also like to participate in the next challenge but not sure what guild to choose, any suggestions?  Thanks for listening/reading.

level 1 Human. Adventurer at heart, training with the Assassins
STR 2|DEX 3|STA 1|CON 2|WIS 3|CHA 4

Welcome to the rebellion!