Good Evening Rebels!

So, I have been battling a General Anxiety Disorder for the past 15 years.  About 5 years ago I started on a medication (Lexapro) which worked for about a year.  Then I switched to Effexor XR.  I noticed that there was a slow weight gain.  I originally attributed the weight gain to the fact that I had also started back to work at a law firm and did not have as much time to work out.  In 2012 I started running and training with a trainer.  I ran several 5ks, completed a Warrior Dash and finished my first half-marathon (on a broken foot) in 2013.  I felt great.  Until the broken foot.  I was still able to concentrate on upper body strength with my injury, but could not get in the cardio.  I let my exercise really drop off.  As well as my diet.

I joined NF and the Academy about a year ago.  I feel like I have found my people!  About 2 years ago, my weight (which had lessened) plauteaued; nothing I tried helped.  Cutting calories, more cardio, less cardio, more weights, less weights.  Nothing. Helped.  My primary care physician ran some bloodwork and nothing came back abnormal.

My anxiety then began to get incredibly out of control since my poor body image contributes to my anxiety.  Nine months ago I began seeing a new therapist who recommended I see a new doctor about my meds.  The new doctor increased the effexor dosage.  That took place at the very end of 2014, beginning of 2015.  Since that time, I have gained 10 pounds.  The only change was the meds.  Two weeks ago my doc finally agreed to let me wean off the effexor because it was actually making me worse because of the weight gain issue.  Thus, this seemed like a perfect time to respawn!

The last two weeks have felt fantastic.  I feel like a boulder has been lifted.  I run and workout with renewed gusto (it's still wicked hard), but I feel like I can actually make a difference!  My anxiety has been harder to tame, but I am working on it with my therapist.  

So yeah - here we go!  :)