When's the last time you invested in yourself?

Aside from work in the gym, when was the last time you guys invested in yourselves?

Like, when did you last buy a tool or a course to learn a skill? When was the last time you took somebody farther ahead on your career path out for coffee and some advice?

I try to ask myself this question a lot - if it's been too long since I really invested in myself, I start to kind of slide a little bit.

Thoughts?

• Like 2

I'm active duty military, which means typical days start at a 5 am wake-up, work until 5 or 6.  I've been doing less work and more going to night school.  This last quarter I took Biochemistry and Anatomy and Physiolgy I, Monday through Thursday 5:15 to 9:30.  I've missed many storytimes with my baby girl and free time has become a myth, but I know it'll be worth it in the end when I am a nurse and getting paid way more to do exactly what I do now (I'm a medic).  Sometimes the hard right is better than the easy left.  Or something.

• Like 7

In vino veritas, in aqua sanitas.

Our life is frittered away by detail... simplify, simplify.

-Henry David Thoreau

There's a trick to it:

You either do it or you die.

Battle Log

I've been accepted to grad school in London (starting in September), which is really exciting but also moderately terrifying... particularly since it involves taking a year off work at age 30.  I don't regret it though, and every day is so much more exciting when I have a big end goal to look forward to.  I've always loved school and studying at 30 with a clear idea of what I want from my life vs muddling through at 18 with no real future plans should be an interesting exercise in self-awareness,,,

• Like 2

:: wanderbound ::

Level 2 Gryffindor half-elf assassin & rider in The Wild Hunt

STR: 4 |  DEX: 2  |  STA: 2  |  CON: 0  |  WIS: 4  |  CHA: 1 

..... current (2nd) challenge! ..... epic quest! .....