Hi, I'm Stephanie. Calling me by either my real name or username is fine!

I've been trying to lose weight for a bit in the start of summer by doing cardio, which included hikes and trail runs. While I did lose a few pounds, I had no idea what those pounds were (whether they were fat, muscle or just water). I didn't want to become scrawny so I switched to strength training after a month, and did bodyweight exercises as well as experimenting with dumbbells (which belonged to my younger brother). I trained every day for a few days, but realized I needed rest days. So I started training every other day. I did dumbbell deadlifts and dumbbell squats for a week (20 lb per dumbbell). Now I've ditched free weights because I don't have anything heavier nor do I have money for monthly gym membership. My workout now consists of only bodyweight exercises. I don't have a pull up bar at home, but I can go to the playground at my old elementary school to train for pull ups and other exercises.

I also do kung fu every week for four hours. It comprises of lion dance and sanshou (Chinese kickboxing). I want to get better at kung fu, and sanshou in particular. I'm not very strong and I don't want to end up as a punching bag in sparring matches so I'm taking up strength training on my own. I'm also doing a bit of flexibility exercises for my hips for mobility as they are super stiff right now.

I get a lot of motivation and information from reading fitness articles on websites like Nerd Fitness and the Art of Manliness (even though I'm not a man). I also have the ebook "Convict Conditioning" by Paul Wade, which I use for exercises.

This is my battle log where I will be tracking my workouts. I'm still playing around with my workout routine so each exercise I do is not set in stone yet, though it will definitely comprise of calisthenics.

• Like 1

Yesterday

1) Vertical Pulls                                 3x40

2) Shoulderstand Squats                  2x25