Bay Area & Fabulous - New to the Academy and the Rebellion

Hello everyone! 

I am new to the Academy today as well as the Rebellion. I am on IRC getting to know some of you awesome folks! 

I am 33 years old and live near San Francisco, CA. I have only been in the Bay Area since August of 2015. Before that, I live in Japan for seven years where. It was there I met my wonderful husband. We have been together for around 7 years and married for over three. We wanted to start a family. So we got him a green card and moved to San Francisco. My side of the family lives in New York so San Francisco is a nice middle ground in which to build a family. We are also an LGBT couple so being close to San Francisco, a Meca for these issues, has been lovely. 

My husband and I play World of Warcraft (still have accounts but haven't played recently--moving to the US takes up a lot of time). I am also a middle school English/History teachers as well as an English academic. I liked how NF married the nerd aspects of my life with the fitness aspects I have been trying to obtain. 

In Japan my husband and I went bouldering weekly. I also have has a dream of doing a free-form tripod headstand. After reviewing all the classes on NF I chose assassin. Scout seems more in gear with my current capabilities, but scout is where I dream to be. I am shooting hight. 

I also loved that NF has a strong sense of community which is something I have been looking for. My goals are to create healthy habits through small goals with a strong community backing. There are a lot more goals packed in there but that one is the bulk of it. 

I am a teacher, an academic, and a sci-fi/gaming nerd who currently lives in SF with his husband. I am looking to build healthy habits that stick and keep me happy while doing them. Happy to be a part of the rebellion and meet more wonderful people. 

Looking to hear more from all of you? Where are you from and what are your hobbies?

• Like 2