no time like now - hello from central PA

I just joined the academy.  

My goals are getting back to how fit I was when I was a field geologist back in the 90s, now that spouse and I have a handle on our mental illnesses: anxiety for me and bipolar for him.  I also have a background where my ancestors live a long time and there is certainly no reason not to live it as well as I can. I'm very scared of being incapacitated when I'm old, and that fear certainly hasn't been helped since I work for a gov agency that regulates nursing homes.  Something that I want to avoid at all costs.

A bit about me.  with the same fellow for 27+ years and met through tabletop rpg gaming with him as my first DM in college.  love cats.  atheist.  no kids. love to cook and brew. cosplay (we did pathfinder characters at GenCon last years). love tabletop RPGs though it's been an age since we've played. have a degree in Geology and I love any kind of science.  love to take up new skills just to have them.  Love reading just about anything with words on it, but prefer sword and sorcery, planetary romance and space opera.  Used to be a big reader of Marvel comics until the mid 90s when things just got too convoluted.  have my own blog: clubschadenfreude.com (fair warning, plenty about religion and politics on it, as well as recipes and just general nattering)

Used to hate exercise and I blame it on horrible phys ed teachers and the damned President's Council on Physical Fitness.  I now love to walk and walk to work most days (3 miles one way and then the bus at night, and working back to walking both ways).  I'm getting to like weight training but still have a ways to go with that. 

that's about it.  Pleased to meet you all! 

• Like 1
On ‎7‎/‎15‎/‎2017 at 10:56 AM, Sabina said:

Hello - I'm new here too. Geology degree? Awesome. I'm a geophysicist!