• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

CombatMedic

Kenpo? kickboxing? Taekwondo?

Hi Everyone! 

A bit of advice, por favor. 

I am a little chubby and in need of stamina. I wouldn't mind some coordination and balance too! I am a hobbit sized nurse by real life trade, so my class would be firmly 'healer'. Now you'd think nurses don't need to be able to fight..well..you've never worked Dementia have you? One twisted arm (and a splint), and one butterknife between my shoulder blades were it not for a coworker later, and I'm thinking yes, yes I do need to be able to keep myself and my students and coworkers safe. 

So, in town I have the following options, in terms of martial arts/gym: Kenpo Karate, Kickboxing and Taekwondo. 

I know very little about any of these. 

I am some 30lb overweight, having lost 84 in the last 18 months (mainly by diet combined with work walking & archery - walking up and down a 30 or 40 yard range some 75 times in an evening adds up!) with the odd bout of skiing or other random activities thrown in. I am not afraid to try all sorts of things, but whereas the mind is willing the body is..well..uncoordinated. 

I am a clutz. Like, the walls and ceiling regularly attack me. I am out of shape. (I can run up about 3-4 flights of stairs no problem but hiking recently with a friend who I swear is part mountain goat? .... my stamina failed me) 

I plan on trying each of these classes out before making any final decisions but any words of wisdom you lovely ladies and gentlemen may have, I would appreciate. 

Thank you! 

Talanoth   

Any of them will help with your goals, I'd place greater priority in the teachers/community and the space itself than the specific style. Find where you feel most comfortable and as long as its close enough that the distance doesn't become a reason not to train, and that's probably the best option for you.

• Like 4

Teirin   
1 hour ago, Talanoth said: