Peace Corp Anyone?

Let me start by saying I have never been in the Peace Corp but I am curious about them. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with them and could offer some insight? Basically here is the gist:

I'm 26 years old - turning 27 next year in late January. I have no wife, no kids, and currently no girlfriend. I also don't have much of a career - I have been unemployed for the past 8 months (voluntarily and living off money I saved up) and am currently working on getting my real estate license for my state and becoming a real estate agent. I'm also going to pick up a part time job in town too to help pay the bills and expenses of being a real estate agent. However, one of my dreams is to travel! Like I seriously want to see what else is out there - I'm a curious person and I HATE doing unfilling work (Which is why I left my last job - I was a semi truck driver and just got tired of doing it). I decided I wanted to try Real Estate sales but I also might consider a stint in the peace corp next year. I enjoy helping people and generally trying to do good, but here are my concerns:

1. Safety - I don't want to get sent to a 3rd world country and get held for ransom by a group of 'bad' rebels looking to make a profit off a USA hostage.

2. Commitment - I don't want to sign my life away to something for the next x number of years. If it is a solid number, that is fine, but preferably nothing more than 2 years.

3. Individuality - If it is anything like the army, I don't do well being barked at, being told how to dress, and being forced to do stuff I don't want to do and getting punished for not doing it. I understand there are procedures I may have to follow - that is perfectly fine and to be expected, I just don't want strict ones or something that will give me an anuerism for holding my tongue.