• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Odinson

Krav Maga DVDs

Hi 

I have a question regarding training in Krav Maga, I live in the middle of nowhere and currently have no access to wheels, the nearest Krav Maga training center is over two hours away on public transport so not really a viable option. Has anybody had any experience using the training videos you can buy online? I can round up a partner to train but as a training tool has anybody had any success or lack of with there use?

I know nothing can replace a center of learning and a good teacher but I am wondering if they will do as a stop gap for the next 12 months until I can get mobile?

Thanks in advance guys!

I've no experience with Krav Maga, per se, but I do have some experience with TKD, boxing, and freestyle wrestling (and I was a coach for wrestling, too).  

Does the person you're looking to train with have any Krav Maga or other martial arts training?

Videos tend to be of limited value without an experienced practitioner to work with.  Part of the problem is that we're not always aware of our bodies, especially when starting out.  So while it is technically possible to learn from videos and books, it is also extremely easy to develop bad and/or dangerous habits which then become difficult to break. If you were practicing TKD Poomse (forms), you could probably do a decent job with videos, books, pictures, etc, especially working with a partner.  Especially with a partner that had some experience.