The Silver Archer: Heart of Purpose

SkyGirl

THE SILVER ARCHER

Chapter 5: Heart of Purpose

anigif_sub-buzz-6333-1495226161-15.gif

"No! Not that way!" Mistral smacked her hand against her shield in frustration and shook her head at me, nostrils flaring and sweat dripping down her face. "You've got to come after it with purpose! You're completely apathetic!"

The sun was beating down on the wide grassy cliff-top where we had trained every day for a week, and my loose clothing was stuck to my body with sweat. I had thrown off my vest, armor, and bracers long before, willing to trade the risk of Mistral's skillful sword nicking me for the agony of the metal trapping even more heat against my arms and torso. My arms and legs felt limp and weighted down; my shoulders and core burned every time I moved. Everything in me wanted to throw down my shield and scream I'm tired! I've never done this before! You're making me do things I've never done before and everything hurts!

But I took a deep breath and bit back the words. My mission back to the island would begin in less than two months, and I needed to be ready - I would be a spy out on my own, fully responsible for defending myself. There would be no partner to watch my back or fight off attackers when my meager strength wore out. Mistral was a trained warrior who knew what she was doing, and if I wanted to be as strong as she was, I needed to do what she said.

So I slowly lifted my heavy sword and shield with burning arms and tried to set myself for another attack. "Am I allowed to take off any more of my clothes? Please say yes."

To my surprise, Mistral burst out laughing and lowered her shield. "It is hot," she admitted, glancing up at the sun. She chewed her lip for a moment, then her shoulders relaxed and she jerked her head toward the bit of shade provided by the higher overhanging cliffs. "Come sit over here for a bit. Let's try something else."