• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Gilgongo

Novice starting weight question

(This feels like such an embarrassingly stupid question, but I can't find the answer in the knowledge base. Perhaps it's just old age...)

I'm 50 years old, a total noob to lifting, and reading The Barbell Prescription (basically like a Starting Strength for old people).  

While there are lots of fairly complex things I am gradually understanding about programming, nowhere in the books can I see where they describe how to get your starting weight on which to base the programme templates they describe. 

I'm guessing something like working out what the maximum weight you can lift in 1 rep is, then take about 70% of that and make that the weight you have for your work sets? 

Or, er... something else?

Thanks for any pointers.

If you're a complete novice to lifting I'd say start each lift with just the bar (usually 45lbs). Some people may need to use even less than that. Starting Strength will then have you add 5lbs each session, so you'll progress up to "real" weighs pretty fast, but without jumping into the deep end too quickly. I don't know what sort of progression your book/program has but if it's designed for beginners it's probably fairly similar.

Trying to determine your 1 rep max as a beginner isn't usually worth it. Beginners will progress so fast  (from learning the skill of the lift, not just strength increases) that it's pointless to try to nail that number down. That and there's always the risk of hurting yourself from throwing a bunch of weight on your back with (potentially) suboptimal form.

• Like 2

When I started grabbing weight in the gym, I started off way low on weights because I had no idea what I was doing in as far as the weight selection (still don't have  a ton of knowledge, but I'm increasing weights over time).