• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Hey everyone. Ne player here, trying to do what we're all here to do. Right now one of my big challenges is trying to keep up with a good diet, but not sure how to advance past where I am now. I've cut most processed foods out (I snack occasionally, but have been getting better about making healthy choices here), though I do fight with my sweet tooth from time to time still. I've been a fairly strict vegetarian for about 19 years (no poultry, fish, or straight up eggs, though it's taste/texture for the last), and fast food is not much of an issue (don't like the stuff and hard to find good vegetarian options). My big challenges are finding new meals (all 3 major ones) that are friendly for my vegetarian diet and that I can make with very little time (I'm a grad student with a family/child), bored eating, and portion control/dealing with the hungry feeling. I've read all the usual material available; stuff like using smaller plates, etc, but it hasn't been as effective as I'd like. What do *you* guys do for challenges like these? Anything that works well for you?

Vegetarian food is absurdly simple imo, except maybe squash and artichokes.  (I mean, I like artichokes, but who the heck wants to spend dinnertime dissecting a thistle with their teeth?)  The only trick is limiting those grains.  If you keep a lid on your bread/pasta/rice and don't eat sweets too often, you should be fine.

I do most of my veggies one of a few ways: raw, fridge pickled, oven roasted, or sauteed.  Pretty much anything that grows can be eaten one or more of those ways. For the roasted/sauteed, just add a spoonful of your favorite oil and some lemon juice, garlic, salt, pepper, etc.