• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Chyla

Beginner seeking help for deeper squats

Hi there! I'm a total beginner in the weightlifting world, but I'm slowly trying to get to know more.

I've been having trouble squatting deep enough, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice or pointers that helped them squat deeper?

Anything will be greatly appreciated! 

What kind of trouble? 

Is it your balance? Tight muscles? Knee pain? Without knowing what is making it difficult for you to squat deep, it's difficult to give helpful advice. For me it was balance, and I am currently doing body weight squats to try and get better at that. My plan is to get my form as close to perfect as I can get it, and then add weight back on.

• Like 1

On 11/8/2017 at 9:48 AM, Chyla said:

Hi there! I'm a total beginner in the weightlifting world, but I'm slowly trying to get to know more.

I've been having trouble squatting deep enough, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice or pointers that helped them squat deeper?

Anything will be greatly appreciated! 

So us a video of you squat.  Let us help you.  But you can start with how does your third world squat look?

Video would be great. Here is my progression of squats you can try. If you can't do a variation just go to the regression and get better there.

Heels Elevated Reaching Plate Squat

Heels Elevated Goblet Squat

Goblet Squat

2 KB Squat

Front Squat

Back Squat

Squatting is very hard for me and has taken a long time to improve. Good luck, my friend!

Stretching the leg muscles makes a big difference for squats. Especially the calves. If your calf muscles are tight/short, the only way you can get your butt down deep enough for a squat is to move your entire upper body backwards. Which of course tips you over and now you fall backwards.