Maigs Does the Unthinkable

Maigs

Holy cow we're at the tail end of 2017, getting ready to roar into 2018. Seems like a good time for a recap:

Spoiler

When I graduated high school and got married in 2004 I weighed somewhere between 150-160. Then I gained 5-10lbs a year while I went through college, moved across the country, moved half-way back across the country, got my Masters degree, and took the CPA exam. So I ended up in September of 2012 weighing a whopping 222.4lbs. Once I was done with my last test I got on track with a tentative goal of weighing 160lbs. Over the next 10ish months I lost 40lbs to get down to 182. Then I stalled. Then I gained back 15lbs over the next 3 years. I went into 2016 weighing 195, dangerously close to my "I'll never weigh this fucking much again" number of 200lbs which which coincidentally is right about where I cross into the "obese" BMI category. I joined Nerdfitness (or more correctly, rejoined after a failed attempt a few years before) in 2016 and I got down to 165. In 2017 I basically stalled. I got as low as 158 (!!) but I'm still carrying more fat than I want and made almost no progress of getting rid of it. So I'm ending 2017 weighing somewhere between 160-165.

It's also a good time to evaluate my long term goals:

Spoiler

I split my goals into three categories: Health/Fitness, Hippy Goals, and Adult Goals. In no particular order:

Health/Fitness:

• Run a sub-30 minute 5k
  • Get to goal body size (under 20% bodyfat, 145ish lbs?)
  • Be able to easily do standard pushups (currently I can barely do any knee pushups)
  • Get more steps that 2017 (was at 3.3M a couple of weeks ago)
  • Squat plates (135lbs)
  • Make eating healthy a habit, not something I have to work on and struggle with daily

Hippy Goals

• Line Dry one load of laundry a month
  • Get to where the bike is my primary mode of transportation.
    • Initial goal of biking to work 1x/week