• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

The name is Aonghus and I do not have a 'Viking bod.' I don't expect to end up looking like something from a romance novel. I'm more likely to appear on the cover of The Very Voluble Viking than the Very Virile Viking.  But I am working towards regaining my health and a level of fitness I am happy with.

My hobbies are medieval re-enactment (mainly through the SCA,) archaeological experimentation, woodworking, writing, leatherworking, historical brewing, Scottish country dancing and pipe smoking. 

As part of the SCA I am just getting into heavy fighting and my arms are jelly three fights in. (Hard to defend yourself with a shield when you can keep the shield lifted up.) So it'd be really nice to be in better fighting shape as well as looking better.

I'm really just getting back into fitness after a rough couple of years. I moved from Scotland to the US and gained a load of weight.

I think I've finally found the Big Why I actually needed to push me forward. I'm just not happy when I look at myself in the mirror or pictures anymore. I just gained an amazing daughter, our first baby, and I want to be alive for a long time for her. Able to play with her and take care of her. The doctor told me I am on the verge of pre-diabetic and that was a big wake up call. But, honestly, the really big thing has been being so unhappy with how I look. And I am just... tired of it. 

So, I am going to go ahead and try a challenge. I'm working hard on the small changes so that I don't overwhelm myself.

Big quest - Actually achieve the 3 smart goals consistently.

Smart goal 1: Do my C25K run 3 times a week. No matter what. there are 7 days in the week for me to use for this.

Smart goal 2: Work on reducing my sugar intake. Just try to make better choices and keep tracking my food so that I can learn what has more sugar than I realised.