Hi all!

The names Mike. I'm a 28 years old student, nerd, husband, and am trying to get into shape again after many false starts! I work at an elementary school for an after school program, where I'm trying my best to turn as many kids as possible into nerds (I run 2 weekly D&D games with 3rd and 5th graders). I enjoy playing basketball but I haven't played in a few years. I am self conscious about joining a team of some kind while I'm so out of shape. 

Any advice for someone who goes strong for a week or two and then lets the stress of research papers and junk food get the best of him, would be very appreciated!

Main Goal:

Do the beginner body weight work out at least two times a week in order to build a foundation for my fitness.

Side Quests:

1) Do not go out for lunch during the week (when I'm sick of the healthy stuff we have at home)

2) Reset my horrible sleep schedule by waking up at 7:30 during the week.

3) Avoid looking at my phone in bed before I go to sleep.

Good luck everyone and nice to meet you!

• Like 2

Hi!

I'm trying to stick to good habits after some false starts as well. It's why I'm still doing the level one board! Heh, I still need to put an introduction on my thread. I keep remembering it's not there. Sigh. Next couple days.

ANYWAY I think it's cool you're running the D&D games with the kiddos :-)

As for sticking to it, I would suggest finding a group to play basketball with, even informally, but regularly. Or get yourself to a court, shoot a few, and get the feeling back of playing. That might be a way to stay motivated. Do you have any co-workers that would join a team with you? 

Be armed with easy go-to snacks and meals so you aren't left with nothing but the drive thru etc. Also get a feel for what places have healthy eats you can get quickly. Chipotle, El Pollo Loco have good options available.

Good luck!