• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Nomad Jay

Studying Aikido and Wing Chun simultaneously?

I took a few semesters of aikido in college and really enjoyed it. Time-skipping to today, I will have the opportunity to take up aikido again later this year. There is also a wing chun kung fu dojo in the area. I have no background in wing chun but reading up on the art, it interest me and it appears (to the untrained layman) that the two style would complement each other. Thoughts on this from practitioners of either art?

I mean, if you have the time to do both, nothing wrong with it.  Just accept that you'll likely progress slower in both because your time commitment is split, just as if you wanted to do lifting and rock climbing.  There will likely be overlap, but I also would expect each training to somehow negatively impact the other in some manner (we have a karate person who has been training with us for years, and she still has trouble letting go of that training during practice sometimes).

But yea, if you have the time and means, go all at it.

The style I study (Cuong Nhu) is a mixed style that lists both Wing Chun and Aikido among our 7 styles of influence. In fact, just last night we were working on blocking with Wing Chun straight punches (using the forearm to block an incoming punch while still driving into the centerline with the fist). Later we working on knife self-defense incorporating Aikido techniques like kote gaeshi.

All this to say, you’d hardly be the first to combine them, and in fact the combination is foundational to the style I practice.

I do think its interesting that your taking one art that specializes in large circle takedowns and one that specializes in dominating the centerline, both that have a lot of wrist/arm control.