Tei: Holy mother forking shirtballs!

tei_

tumblr_p36be5M3YQ1wk12pzo3_400.gif

On February 25 I performed a concerto that I had been working on for two years! it was John Williams’ Five Sacred Trees— yes, that John Williams, he wrote a bassoon concerto. Here is me, in front of the first professional orchestra I ever played with, whom I got to travel back to for the concerto :

FXT23676-Edit.thumb.jpg.838d4efd78656d0fdaa1cf98b29626bd.jpg

So that consumed most of my February— I stopped climbing a few weeks in advance of it in paranoid fear of injuring my hands, took it easy at gymnastics for the same reason, and took it easy at the gym… basically just because nothing else seemed to matter very much, lol.

980x.gif

It went REALLY WELL. I was honestly terrified for two straight years of the moment I walked onstage with BRIGHT LIGHT and PEOPLE WATCHING and NO ESCAPE, but I worked hard on reframing my performance anxiety and as soon as I got out  and started playing my only thought was “oh, this is easy, what was I so worried about?” (I took propranolol, too, which some musicians take before every concert but I hadn’t used since my final recital at school four years ago— I have no idea if it helped or not, and I don’t plan on taking it regularly because I don’t want to form a neurosis around needing propranolol. But in the interest of full disclosure, there it is :P)

That’s over and NGL there’s kind of a gaping hole in my life where all the concerto-anxiety was. And now it is time to Challenge!

anigif_sub-buzz-10837-1486052414-3.gif