Yoga Nidra

Hey all, quick question. I have gone to two yoga nidra sessions. Usually I can keep pretty focused and follow the guided meditation and there's no issue. Then like 2/3 of the way through the exercise and my mind starts wandering like crazy. To really random things. Almost like dreaming? Or like the visions you start to see right as you're falling asleep? And as these random visions start happening, I start losing focus on what the instructor is saying, and I have to keep fighting to really focus on the instructors words. 

Is this normal? Does anyone else have this issue? Does anyone have any general opinions or advice on yoga nidra since I'm a beginner? Thanks for your help. I appreciate it!

-Bully

My guess would be that you can only stay focused for so long, and then you start drifting into more of a dream-like unfocused state. Yoga nidra requires relaxing into a receptive state, and maintaining focus. You don't seem to have a problem relaxing into a receptive state, so you just work on maintaining focus. Do you have a meditation practice? Any of the types of meditation that have you focus on a given thing will help develop that skill. Just that process of sitting and focusing on a thing, on your breath, on a picture, on a word, whatever, and when your attention starts to wander, bring it back. Don't fight it, or create mental tension, just persistently redirect your attention to the object of focus. 

This is a book on Yoga Nidra, by the teacher who developed the modern practice: https://archive.org/details/YogaNidra_201610

Joshua - Yoga Ninja Weasel #20: The Weasel goes on an Adventure!