• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Nak

Help with increments and plateaus

Hi

I've been doing heavy lifting for about 3 months now (and before that did some light lifting about a year ago) as a way of building strength to supplement my main sport (Muay Thai). I followed Stronglifts 5x5 for about two months and then switched to a different program which my friend who got me into lifting suggested to me. I'm not sure of the name of it but the basic idea is that it focuses on squat (2 work sets), bench press (3 work sets) and deadlift (1 work set) every weights session, with a bit of assistance at the end. The rep range is 2-6, with the amount of weight increased next session being dependent on how many reps you can achieve. The idea of this is that if you can achieve 6 reps you add 2.5 kg next session, 5 reps 2kg, 4 reps 1 kg, 3 reps 0.5 kg; any less then you don't increase.

My problem is that apparently with this program, according to my friend, the reps that you're capable of should decrease gradually over a few months, whereas for me this happens rapidly. For example on my bench I was able to achieve 3x6 on 61.5 kg on April 23rd. The next session I forgot my fractional plates so lifted only 62.5 kg for one set of 6 and 2 sets of 5. I decided to add only 1 kg again because of the decrease in reps but was a bit gutted that on 63.5 kg I could only do a set of 5, then a set of 4, then a set of 3. This seems to me to be a pretty rapid decline of reps proportional to the weight increase and this is the second time it's happened in the past month; I recently deloaded to correct the problem but obviously now I'm facing it again.

I'm hoping someone can weigh in on this and offer some advice because I'm planning on toning down my lifting to 1-2 times per week in order to focus more on training to fight and before then I've got strength goals I'd like to hit (Bench my bodyweight/75kg for reps, squat 100kg for reps and deadlift 120 kg).