A New Player Has Entered the Battleground

Hello!

I am a recently career changed Software Developer, 4 weeks from completing Lambda School. Awesome place I highly recommend if anyone is interested! That aside, I'm here to take control of my health again. Before school, I was an Assistant Store Manager for some weird gas station/restaurant place. It was fast pace and endless hours. The money was *decent. It was the first time in my life I was close to making 40k in a year. Every job before then was at or below 20k. So it was a huge difference. The workload was not worth it though. To put in perspective, I was averaging 75 hours per week. Days were any where from 10 hours to 16 hours, depending on how busy it was and if employees wanted to actually show up for work. I could go on in detail about how terrible that place was, and how the software they used is so bad it inspired me to really push to get in to software engineering (something I've wanted to do for years now to begin with.) But I'm not going to!

I will however, talk about my health and life events.You see, last year, I was a die-hard fitness geek. I was a gym rat. I followed Jym Stoppani, subscribed to his site and competed in the SS8 challenge last year. It was intense. It was amazing. Life Changing.

From left to right, the picture with the newspaper was the start of that competition. I started around April 12th, 2017. The second was on my completion, around June 16th, 2017. The workouts were long and intense, the diet was killer! But it worked. I spent roughly 25-30 hours a week in the gym. My wife supported me, spending a couple hours every few days prepping meals for me. Between that and the long hours at work, I couldn't have succeeded without her helping. It was intense! But I felt amazing. It was the leanest I had ever been.