• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Hey guys!  Just wanted to reach out for your thoughts, again!  I'm starting classes in the Fall, and while I've been in school for several years now so I know to balance that first. I'm not really a social creature, so I've already been dedicating my evenings to lifting and running. Now, I want to get back into combat sports. Specifically, I want to join our school's boxing and brazilian jiu-jitsu clubs.  I have some previous experience in karate, kickboxing, and western boxing. Boxing meets 5 times a week and BJJ meets 3 times. Brand new to BJJ and have trained western boxing for roughly a year before my break. I'd say I have a good foundation for strength and conditioning balance on my own.  Assuming there's no right answer since everyone progresses differently, how often would *you* say to train both?

Edit: I found a sample schedule for the boxing club's peak season training where for their competing athletes, so I can see just how much their athletes train (boxing 4x/week, interval runs 2x/week, burnouts after practice 2x/week, plyos/stregth/bodyweight strength 4x/week). Both clubs condition their recreational and competitive athletes after practice with strength or conditioning and seem like solid organizations.

All thoughts, criticism, concerns, question are greatly appreciated and will be heard. :)

• Like 1

@Machete, definitely something I'm considering. I will say that there's no way I could be in two places at once.   BJJ seems to meet during the same time frame as Boxing, so there is that limitation too.

• Like 1

Personally, I would do 2 classes of boxing and 2 classes of BJJ. Or if you can get away with it, 3 and 3. Because I am OCD about balance like that. :-) I am pretty sure that by the time you got to 4, their classes are scheduled at the same time so that would not be possible for you.

1 hour ago, GeekWingChun said: