• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Kalleia

Bodyweight squats - knees turn in

Hi! I'm completely new to exercise and have been trying to do some bodyweight squats. My problem is that past the first few reps, my knees tend to turn inward while I'm squatting, and touch each other. I know that this isn't particularly good for them! I did some reading to try to find out why, and here are some things to note:

- If I stand straight, toes pointing forward, my knees turn in - one slightly, and the other very noticeably.

- I can W-sit very easily and it's my usual comfortable sitting position (I probably need to stop doing this :unsure:)

- I have anterior pelvic tilt and really tight hamstrings (I've found some stretches and strengthening exercises to do to try to fix this)

- I have a disability which causes low muscle tone

There are a few things I've considered to try to fix my squats - standing in a wider stance, pointing my toes further outward, and putting a resistance band above my knees to push outwards against. Am I doing the right thing? Do you think this will fix my problem? The long-term plan is to add weight to my squats and obviously I don't want to risk knee injuries.

Take a stance where your toes point somewhat outward.  Up to 30 degrees or so.  And while squatting use your leg muscles to keep your knees pushed out - such that your knees track roughly in line with your shins and toes.  And yes, use a wider stance if that’s what it takes to acheive this.  If necessary, don’t squat low yet.  Squat to the depth that allows you to keep your knees tracking correctly.   As you continue squatting over the weeks and months, you’ll find that your flexibility and control during squats improve right along with your strength.