Lifting Newbie Levels Up

I'm a newcomer to the world of weights, and have recently started consulting with a personal trainer for set routines. Here's my intro.

A little background on me: I've been running for almost 5 years, started doing Synergy (HIIT) and Body Pump (weightlifting meets aerobics) around a year ago, and decided I wanted to do something a little more tailored. So I got my routine laid out for my weights days - started on the machines, and then this week, for the first time, I was unleashed into the downstairs gym in order to humiliate improve myself on the free weights.

It was a big day!

So my old routine, for six weeks was this:

3 sets of 25 reps on all -

Leg press (horizontal): Started at 35kg/77lb -- rose to 45kg/99lb

Chest press (seated): Started at 5kg/11lb -- rose to 10kg/22lb

Seated row: Started at 10kg/22lb -- rose to 15kg/33lb

Shoulder press: 1.25kg/3lb -- 2.5kg/3lb

Tricep pulldown: 8.75kg/19lb -- 11.25kg/25lb

Bicep curl: 6.25kg/14lbs

I did this twice a week, with a 4km warmup run (usually around 25 minutes). Once a week I would also do a HIIT class, and sometimes take a longer, 45 minute run, depending on schedule and weather. Never did manage to go heavier on the biceps as I would get back pain using the cable machine. Shoulder press was always a tricky one for me, and I could tell I was occasionally lopsided with the machine.

Over those 6 weeks, I've lost 1kg of fat and gained 1kg of muscle. Body fat is down by a little under 1% to 25.7%. I'm also eating high protein/low carb, although this is hard as it's almost Christmas and my dad is filling our house with pies! 

So, six weeks in, my new routine and starting weights are:

3 x 15 on all -

Leg press (inclined): 50kg/110lb

Smith machine: 10kg/22lb

Lat pulldown: 24kg/53lb

Shoulder press, dumbells: 4kg/9lb each (this was a struggle, might reduce to 3kg?)

Biceps, db: 5kg/11lb

Triceps, db, "nosebreaker": 3kg/7lb