• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

shoshin.onryu

I want to get smaller... Is powerlifting a bad choice for me?

Hey, folks.

I am a big guy (6'0", 285 (down from 330!)), and I've been dabbling in powerlifting for a few months now.  I have had some weight loss, and I've seen that my body is restructuring, but I'm not losing size.

I'm worried I'm just replacing fat with muscle, and I'll stay this size forever.

Is that reasonable?  Is powerlifting just not for me, with regards to my goals?  Or is this just a temporary transition and eventually I'll potentially lose size in addition to weight?

At an athletic body fat percentage, a 6' dude can still easily hover around the 200lb mark. But your frame physically couldn't sustain your current weight at lower bodyfat percentage (ie. replacing fat with muscles 1:1) without steroids and a lot of effort.

Powerlifting can only help you, both in increasing muscle and preserving it in a caloric deficit. If you're still consistently losing weight, keep on keeping on. 

Most people can add 1 full pound of muscle mass on every 4-6 weeks, with strict diet control and training.  

When it comes to body fat, your diet is the biggest factor.  You can powerlift all you want and slim down if your meal plan reflects that.  

That being said, if you find yourself truly enjoying the sport of powerlifting and wish to excel at it, you will need to make some educated decisions about your goals and body composition.

I strongly suggest looking for someone (wether at the YMCA, health clinic, or whatever you can find) to do periodic body fat measurements with skinfold calipers (don't do it on yourself, too much bias) and keep a regular weight log (don't focus on the numbers, just look for a trend).  I am in a very similar boat to you, brother.  Pester me with questions all you want.

• Like 1

On 12/2/2018 at 6:45 PM, Defining said: