First Time Real Renting woes

I live in Southern California and recently got married (12/18!) so life should be pretty amazing but it's kind of struggling. She's from Taiwan and we met while she was a student here. She has a great job but in a month she won't be able to work because we're going through the immigration process of getting her status changed and I guess she has a minimum five-month wait before she can work again. Meanwhile, I'm a substitute teacher with three districts and am also going to school to be a full blown teacher which is awesome but that means that pay sucks and time sucks even more. If she was still working, we wouldn't have a problem but right now we're trying to rent on just my income which isn't awful, we have quite a bit of money saved and would be able to make it to when she's able to work just fine but every place around is a minimum of $1000 (no big) but requires income of 2.5 times rent sooo $2500 while I'm sitting here on $1600~. Literally her only request for a place was to not have to rent a room in a stranger's house and, while that's not a constricting list, it's deadly in this case. I've been blessed enough to stay at home with my parents, initially it was to help them financially and assist my mom medically, but... now I'm trying to get out and... can't. 

I'm not sure what to do and am desperately trying to avoid having her move in with my parents. If anyone has a thought I would truly love to hear it and, if not, thank you for reading my rant :)

You can become a Hero.