• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

crace_lunker

Does my tentative new workout plan suck?

Hi! I'm a relative beginner and I've been trying to work out smarter instead of just harder-- cutting out unnecessary stuff, making sure I'm taking care of everything that IS necessary, etc. With the help of Steve's post about building a workout plan, I think I know what I'm gonna do. BUT: I don't trust my own judgment. If anyone could tell me what's bad, wrong, or stupid about my tentative plan, I'd really appreciate that!

Here it is:

• At least 10 minutes of cardio (probably on an elliptical) as a warmup.
  • Five exercises, as described in Steve's post, for a full-body workout. For each exercise: a warmup set at about 30% of the weight I want to do, then a warmup set at about 60%, then three normal sets.

For each muscle group, I'll rotate between various exercises. (I had been doing the opposite: combining different exercises for the same muscle group all into one day.) For now, those exercises will be on machines. I know the arguments against that, but this is what I'm most comfortable with for the time being, and I'll swap in different, better exercises down the line.

Based on which machines I've been using at my gym, here's what's in the rotation for starters:

• QUADS: leg extension; seated leg press
  • BUTT/HAMSTRINGS: seated leg curl; glute machine
  • CHEST/SHOULDERS/TRICEPS: overhead press; vertical chest; tricep extension; pec fly
  • BACK/BICEPS: bicep curl; pulldown; lat pulldown; rear delt
  • CORE: lower back machine; ab machine

Aaaaaaand... that's it!

What did I get wrong? Am I missing anything important, or doing anything redundant? Are there exercises I should be doing more often, or could stand to do less often?