• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Jka14

Dumbbell/barbell question

Hi!

I've been doing dumbbell bench presses for a few months and have progressed well up to 10kgx3x8. 

I originally chose to use dumbbells for safety as I work out alone and don't have a spotter. 

Today I tried the barbell, I used the 10kg bar and found it too easy so then moved to the 12.5kg bar. This was still relatively easy and did 3x10 sets. I'm wary of moving up through the weights, again for to safety. However if I stick to dumbbells am I going to reach a point where I struggle? Will I be able to do more with barbells or are they much the same? 

Barbells often allow you to lift more because you have two points of contact, so it's therefore more stable and requires less effort from your muscles to keep things moving in a straight line - so if you have 10KG in each hand for DB bench presses, you can likely use at least 25kg on a barbell in my experience. If you're nervous about lifting without a spotter, and your gym isn't busy, you can press in a squat rack and use the safety bar.

Dumbbells ensure that both sides are staying even in their strength levels, and are often considered a better choice for long-term joint health as a result of greater flexibility for alignment/movement throughout the lift (eg. using a neutral grip for DB press instead of the barbell fixed shoulder position). Either is a good choice, so long as you're not feeling any discomfort or pain. You can make good progress with either, and the only limitations you'll likely find are from getting into position with DBs instead of the easier option of setting up a barbell on a stand.

EDIT: Short article on pros/cons of both https://builtwithscience.com/barbell-vs-dumbbell/

• Like 2

On 3/11/2019 at 6:41 AM, Jka14 said:

Hi!

I've been doing dumbbell bench presses for a few months and have progressed well up to 10kgx3x8.