• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Lag a'mhuilin

Lag a'mhuilin Never Learned How to Eat

This is a disturbing fact I realized recently: I don't eat correctly.  I'm in my late 30s and I never learned how.  Sure, I put food in my mouth, chew it, swallow it, and repeat until my plate is empty, but that's the problem, isn't it?  I frequently walk away full--too full. Honestly, I feel like I'm waddling away sometimes.  I don't need to clear my plate.  There's nothing inherently wrong with left-over food.  Most of the time it can be saved for later.  But good food tastes good, and if I'm not really thinking about it, I'll chase that feeling!

That's the key. When I eat I'm not thinking about eating. I'm on auto-pilot. When I do think about it, and this has only started happening recently, I can recognize a point at which I'm no longer hungry, when I'm completely satisfied and shouldn't go on. I consume too many calories in a day because I'm not good at portion size and I'm not mindful of my own needs.

I've been going to the gym regularly, three times a week, for a little over a year now. I started with a personal trainer and am now in a group class where the workouts are a mix of cardio, bodyweight, and weight-lifting. It's really as intense as I want to make it. I've put on a lot of muscle mass in the last year or so, and as a consequence I weigh more than I have in my life, even though my pants size hasn't changed. I can't out-lift my fork.

With the overarching general goal of weight loss (body fat loss), my only goal for this challenge is mindful eating. I'm really trying to build a new good habit here, so I'm going to take it slowly.

The ways in which I plan to be more mindful:

Before the meal

• Prepping meals ahead of time
  • Making a list before going to the grocery store and sticking to it
  • Paying attention to calories when possible. Did you know that one Costco blueberry muffin is 400 calories?! I don't need that!