• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Acupunk

New Rebel Recruit - First Challenge Accepted March 2019

:star: First time NF Challenger - nice to meet you all! I'm definitely nervous about putting this here but I figured its good to be accountable and to put it somewhere visible. 

A little bit about myself: I'm not the most super-fit/super-confident person you'll meet - i.e. I'm pretty much an awkward introvert with an extreme fear of being in public. A bit contrary to my job I suppose (I acupuncture folks for a living so I spend a lot of time talking to people everyday). I started my fitness journey a few years back when I started to run while I was dealing with a severe depression brought on by the death of one of my long time patients. I sucked at it but I found it was helping me more than the antidepressants and the therapy sessions I was told to go to (I still can't figure out why I liked this activity!!). I sprained my ankle a few times and that derailed my health goals in the last 2 years. I ended up eating most of my weight back and by Xmas last year, I was up to 144 (maybe 145?)lbs. For a shorty at 5'4", that wasn't quite cutting it and running became a burden rather than a joy. I started to scale back the eating in January and in Feb did an elimination diet to help me with some eczema issues. That springboarded my weight goals and I found it helped me with endurance. I was hitting walls with my running, being unable to crack the 20 minute wall. However, I am down to 133lbs today and am able to keep my breath for 30 minutes without dying now. So this brings me here! I am super stoked by seeing how much better I am doing with my physical health since changing my diet and I wanted to see what else I could do!

:angel: Why am I here: really the meta goal is to use exercise to help me manage and deal with depression and anxiety. 

:acne: Short term goals: