• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Harriet

How to get bouncy for TKD

Hi all. I've been doing taekwondo for a few months now. So far, so good. My technique is improving. But I'm flat-footed and heavy, and when they ask us to do slides or to bounce on the balls of our feet when kicking, I get really tired really quickly. My calves, shins, and all the little stabilising muscles around them and around the ankle are so friggin tired. How important is the bouncing? Do these little muscles of the lower leg ever get much stronger? It kinda seems a really inefficient way to move around--I've got some big powerful muscles in my upper legs that would like to do the work instead... any insights on bouncing (how important it is, how to get better at it) would be appreciated. Cheers. 

My guess is that you havn't "free played" in a while? (like playing tag or Frisbee or anything like that). When you did, you probably had shoes on. For your feet and ankles that's kind of like going through life with mittens on your hand. Kids are being raised with almost no horseplay (my son almost never does it), and that is actually pretty bad for you.

You can try common agility drills (https://www.acefitness.org/education-and-resources/professional/expert-articles/3782/6-exercises-to-improve-agility) 

but it's probably going to come naturally with training.

Be careful though, quickly tiring muscles lose their ability to support your weight and can lead to injuries, it's better to let your muscles develop than to push them too quickly.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1