Xena

Xena makes a new start

Hello there! I'm a long-time veteran of the Rangers Guild ready to make a new start with the Scouts. It makes tons of sense...I'm mostly a long distance runner and a good fit with Scouts. I think I resisted joining for all these years because something insides of me says "but but but...I do other things!"

That's true, I do lots of other things and I bet you do too. But I have a big old dose of endurance training mixed in there. I'm also trying to think more broadly about being a Scout. With all that time on the road/trail, I have some time to think, look ahead, and reflect back. We are each on our own long journey, and I think everyone has at least a little bit of Scout in them.

So my goals this time:

1. Run 100 miles (4 week goal). I'm working with a coach, so I mostly just do what he tells me. It should work out over 100 miles. If I do cardio cross-training, I'm also allowed to count that (1 mile/10 min) up to a total of 25 miles per week (running plus cross training). I can only count more than 25 miles for the week if it is all running.

2. 60 min plank and 3 sessions of Ab Ripper (Start in zero week, take as long as I need, no deadline). The plank can be broken up as much as needed into segments of at least 30 seconds. Last time I did this, it took me about 9 weeks. This time I'll aim for much shorter. I added the Ab ripper this time to force myself to do more than just planking. I'm also adding a new restriction. Each day that I do planking, I have to do include some variations (3 leg raises on each side, or 10 "rainbows" or 10 "back and forth").

3. 16 days under 2300 calories. I'm going to start this in zero week and skip the week of July 22 (will be traveling).

4. Mobility 3x per week (at least 10 min), best 4 weeks out of 5. So I'll start in zero week and run through the end of the challenge. Success will be meeting this goal for at least 4 of the 5 weeks.

I also have some leftover goals: