• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

newbiedoog

Body weight vs gym weights

Hi,

I'm a real newbie, male weigh about 80kg and I've started doing some bodyweight exercises and progressed to doing one leg hip thrusts and glute bridges.

If I was to go to the gym and use the machines, not free weights, are there equivalent type machines and what sort of weight should I start at?

The reason I want to use the machines and not free weights is that at the moment I feel more comfortable and safer with them than free weights.

Thanks

5 hours ago, newbiedoog said:

Hi,

I'm a real newbie, male weigh about 80kg and I've started doing some bodyweight exercises and progressed to doing one leg hip thrusts and glute bridges.

If I was to go to the gym and use the machines, not free weights, are there equivalent type machines and what sort of weight should I start at?

The reason I want to use the machines and not free weights is that at the moment I feel more comfortable and safer with them than free weights.

Thanks

Hiya. Do you want machines specifically for the glutes? I ask because you mentioned doing two bodyweight exercises for the glutes. If so, the only thing I can think of is kickbacks with a cable attached to your ankle. But I've never done them personally, and I don't see how they would be safer than or superior to a barbell glute bridge. Or did you want a broader range of exercises for the whole body?

are there equivalent type machines

15 minutes ago, Harriet said:

Do you want machines specifically for the glutes? I ask because you mentioned doing two bodyweight exercises for the glutes. If so, the only thing I can think of is kickbacks with a cable attached to your ankle.

Machine hip thrusts and glute kickbacks can be done with creative use of a leg extension machine.

what sort of weight should I start at?