• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Stormcrow

Suggested alternatives for plank?

Hey guys, I'm just getting started with the beginner bodyweight circuit, and it is kicking my ass.  So far, the only things I can do "properly" are the squats and the rows, and I'm not 100% positive I'm doing the squats quite right.  Everything else I have to modify in order to not fall over/get stuck/hurt myself.  Unfortunately, I haven't been able to come up with a modification to the plank that enables me to hold position even for a count of three... a fast three. :(

I've tried several things, all to no avail.

I cannot do planks on the floor, I cannot do them against the door.

I cannot do them by the wall, I cannot do them on a ball.

I cannot to them with a spot, I cannot do them on a cot.

I cannot do them on my knees, cannot do them one apiece;

No, not even with motivational cheerleading niece.

(Ridiculously adorable, but alas, not the magic solution.)

My body just will not freaking hold a plank, at least not yet.

Can anyone suggest a Level 0 exercise that works the same muscles, as a temporary substitute/stepstone?  I don't have any disabilities or documented medical conditions, I'm just very out of shape and very clumsy, which makes anything where I have to get low AND balance a very difficult proposition.

• Like 1

Where are you failing in the plank? Are your hips sinking? Are your arms getting sore? Are you arching your back? If you spread your legs out for a wider base, are you still falling on your side?

Further question: are you holding a high push-up position (arms straight) or on your forearms?

9 minutes ago, Defining said:

Where are you failing in the plank? Are your hips sinking? Are your arms getting sore? Are you arching your back? If you spread your legs out for a wider base, are you still falling on your side?