• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Valette

Form Check Thread

From an uneducated observers' perspective, it looks like there's some inconsistent knee tracking, as well as a bit of butt wink at the end of the movement. Bear in mind that I'm totally not an expert, so wait until someone more experienced chimes in, but it seems to me that @Br0din's previous suggestions for banded squats and goblet squats would be good options to focus on to address those areas?

• Like 2

I'm by no means an expert either, but I think you're onto something with the banded squats/goblet squats previously mentioned.  I've been doing bulgarian split squats, single leg deadlifts, and banded lateral walks. So, I'll do some rearranging.  

I think our similar backgrounds make us squat the same way; I just use a narrower version. Flexibility is usually a good thing, but it's actually harder to teach someone with too much flexibility how to keep the tension for maximal force production.

Biggest thing that fixed a lot of my issues was the bracing right before descent. It would set my shoulders and hips in the correct position , then I'd concentrate on maintaining the tight brace as I moved through the range of motion. (You will notice this on the second video on the thread. There was this lifter I followed on IG, but I can't find the name, who had an exaggerated inhale and brace who would have been a good visual.)

For pressing I like the feet hip-width, and with the same bracing technique as the squat.

• Like 1

After reviewing my own videos, I felt like my OHP foot positioning felt too wide, so I brought it in to hip-width.  I wonder if there's a dynamic posture or perhaps learning push presses would be suitable now.  I feel like I've hit a limit with the Military Press style.