XML format for storing workouts

Hi!

I have been playing with an idea for a few years and now I will like to share it as I would love to get some feedback. I have been searching for similar alternatives on the Internet and I have not been able to find something with these features (the Apple health data export format and the training center XML are maybe a bit similar, but they are substantially different).

The point is that many fitness workouts (stretching routines, trainings with weights, etc.) use very few data. Actually, most of them can be simplified to this general pattern: do the exercise X for Y seconds, rest for Z seconds, and then do another exercise, until you are done. Since I started doing training with weights, I found this to be quite boring, as I had to be constantly keeping an eye on the stopwatch. So I thought that it could be a good idea to convert the workouts into a XML format so the computer/smartphone could take care of the timing and just tell me what to do. For instance, a stretching routine could be as simple as this:

[...]
<exercise name="Position A" description="Hold position A" time="20" />
<exercise name="Position B" description="Hold position B" time="20" />
[...]

This may be an oversimplification, but I hope that the concept is clear. Storing this information could be useful in two ways: it is good for doing workouts, but also for logging what you have done. Of course, the format would be of no use unless it turns into a standard and developers are able to create tools to parse and show the data for the workouts.