Probably TMI but here goes.

Hi all,
I am new to the site, new to internet forums in general so I am probably going to do things wrong for a hot minute. I ramble and my grammar is terrible. Writing is not my strong suit unless it's a lab report or a recipe. My mind wanders. This will be long. 

I'm a 30-something lady cook from New Orleans but I live in a remote part of Colorado now. Earlier today...yesterday...I was reading the articles on the site because it's that time of year again. Realized I could access the forums and I became really interested in the goal-setting process and the challenges, characters, etc. The whole gamification thing is brilliant. I am totally on board. 

In addition to working as a cook (I scored the Cadillac of cook jobs in CO), I am a biochem and biological sciences major with a minor in psychology at ASU. I want to go to grad school..maybe get a ph.D. I have to believe it can be done. It's super slow going but my GPA is almost a 4.0 and I work more than 40 hours a week. I am proud of that. That being said, I am exhausted, and my sleep isn't great. I'm pretty overweight (5'7'' 190 down from 215 last year) and really out of shape besides the brute strength it takes to work in a high volume kitchen.  When I moved to this elevation I thought I was going to DIE. I got used to it. Anyway, all kinds of preventable health issues run in my family so I am at the point where enough is enough- I am not getting any younger. I want to get my cardiovascular health where it needs to be, start lifting weights and lose weight in the process. That's what brought me here. Then I found the worksheet for developing quests and was delighted. I have been needing to plan all my goals for a long time and I just did it. Sometimes you need a little help figuring out what to do in order to do what you need to do. This has been more effective than my therapist. I feel like I have a plan that's doable. I am very excited about that.