Losing Belly Fat

Hi, I am looking to lose some belly fat at the moment but was born with Prune Belly Syndrome. This means I have a severe lack of abdominal muscles. I am still fairly new to this scene and was wondering if there are any effective exercises for burning fat around the belly that aren’t extortionately intensive on the abs. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

14 minutes ago, ToastBread said:

Hi, I am looking to lose some belly fat at the moment but was born with Prune Belly Syndrome. This means I have a severe lack of abdominal muscles. I am still fairly new to this scene and was wondering if there are any effective exercises for burning fat around the belly that aren’t extortionately intensive on the abs. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Hi ToastBread. Belly fat is lost in the same way as any other fat; through a caloric deficit. That means eating a little less than you burn each day. Exercise can help by increasing the amount of calories you burn each day (a little bit), but it can also make you hungry, so it's a trade off. If you're able to do weight or resistance training, that can help in maintaining muscle while you're eating fewer calories (everyone who loses weight loses a combination of muscle and fat, but those who lose weight while strength training lose less muscle). You don't need to target the abs specifically to lose belly fat; fat is lost from all over the body whenever daily food intake is less than what's required to maintain your weight.

• Like 1

Let cheese and oxen and mead crowd out our secret desires for power and domination - Harriet the Viking

Just be bold, fluid and unapologetic, not small, hairy and indecisive - Harriet the Artist

You can absorb me! - Harriet the Contextless Guru