Fake it Til you Make it

miss_marissa

Welp! For the 10th anniversary challenge I figured I’d take a look back at the past 5 years of my time here at NF.

My first challenge (#1 in siggy)was January 2015. I had my first powerlifting competition towards the end of the challenge. I was roughly 136 lb after the holidays “I went off the rails” (lol I’m a full 20 lb heavier than that now) and had a weight goal of 132. After that first meet my PRs were 175 sq/  85 BP / 190 DL (lbs). I had been doing the fitness thing for about 10 months at that point. I was working my old job in a city where I didn’t have too many friends and had just finished grad school, so I was pretty much just going to work and going to the gym. ¯\_()_/¯

Come December 2015, I started my new/current job! Which involved moving to a new city and everything else that comes along with a new job, new apartment, new gym, etc. My first challenge of 2016 (#7 in siggy) was focused on getting used to that newness and figuring out what my new life looked like - getting back into a gym and meal prep + food tracking habit. This is also the first challenge where I did daily selfies (which if I have not preached the benefits to you yet, you should!). This year was when I started to figure out that I had some disordered eating habits. I did a push/pull competition in June where I cut to make weight and was miserable the whole time. And I had already been tracking macros pretty consistently for ~2 years prior (so I really didn’t have much wiggle room to cut, as I was pretty lean and light to begin with). Body dysmorphia is a hell of a thing.