• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

stephaniedavidson

12 minute mile for 2020

Hi all! I'm new to the forums so I'm trying to participate where I can, this is more of an accountability thread than anything else (please let me know if its supposed to be somewhere else), I'm relatively new to consistently running but one of my major goals for 2020 if to be able to run a mile in 12 minutes by Halloween, I know that's not super fast but I thought it would be a good jumping off point so to speak. I started out 2020 doing about 18 minutes for a mile and I am now down to 15:43, my first loot check point is at 14 1/2 minutes, I'm thinking a new pair of running shoes or possibly compression socks. Currently I am doing a mile warm up before lifting and I'm trying to at least jog a whole lap (non-consecutively). Any advice is welcome and I will do my best to keep my thread up to date.

• Like 2

I've recently come back to running and while my pace and distance goals are different, you might still be able to take something from my approach. My long term goal is a 24 minute 5k, which is a 7.8 mph run as far as treadmill speed. The treadmill is my current tool in the cold northeast, I'll be doing more outdoor runs once it warms up.

My thinking is that I attack the goal from both ends. My long workout runs are 2 miles, and I run these at the pace that I can currently complete twice a week, so 6.3 mph right now. As I get somewhat comfortable with that, I bump the pace. I did 6.4 mph for the second mile last week for example. Slowly that speed will keep climbing.