• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

This is my first 4-week challenge!

Edit: I just wanted to add a little intro. One of the things I like about this site is that I'm in the company of other nerds, so I thought maybe I'd share some of the stuff I'm nerdy about. Firefly definitely far-and-away is my favorite thing in pop culture. Comics-wise, I really like Saga (and to a lesser extent other stuff by Brian K. Vaughan). For superheroes, Black Panther is my guy. I've read every issue of his solo titles, starting with Jungle Action (still working through team titles). I guess my work is also kind of nerdy. I'm a research scientist focusing on attitudes related to conservation. My big project last year was on what people think the criteria should be for a species to qualify as "endangered" and what kinds of factors informed those attitudes.

The Actual Challenge Stuff
I've been developing a pretty solid diet and fitness routine over the last few weeks. I want to strike a balance between sticking with it and allowing room for experimenting with new things. I'll definitely be making some changes between now and the 10th, and I'm sure I'll tweak some as I go, but I think this is a pretty good rough outline of the things I want to focus on most.

Diet

Spoiler

Goal: Stick to the plan (which includes experimenting). (so far so good)

Plan
1. Keep counting macros, as I have been.

2. Stick to calorie goal (currently 2,000, but I'll adjust based on experience/results)

3. Only order vegan groceries.

4. Only eat 1 meal/week that I didn’t prepare myself.

5. Mostly keep eating what I've been eating, but try at least two new healthy things each time I order groceries.

Running

Spoiler

Goal 1: Run the 3-mile loop around my block in 30 28 minutes or less. (currently at 33 31 30 29 28 minutes. Completed!)

Goal 2: Run 5 miles in under an hour. (Completed! About 55 minutes)

Run 10k in 75 minutes. (Completed! About 71 minutes)