Hi everyone! I'm new to NerdFitness. I'm looking forward to being a part of the community here. I have been trying to get healthy for a while, but I've been struggling. I think part of that is because I was trying to do it alone. I'm hoping that with this will help.

The Quest: Lose 60 lbs

Goal 1: Drink 11 cups of water a day. I'm basically trying to become a fish here. 

Goal 2: Don't eat any deep fried food. That means no french fries either!

Goal 3: Workout at least 20 minutes 3 times a week.  

Goal 4: Go to bed by 10:00 PM each night. Speaking of, it's my bedtime, so goodnight everyone!

• Like 11

You've got this!

Just in case you need this: try to "associate" your new habits to old patterns already in place.

So for example, for goal 1 to become a fish. If you don't get thirsty on your own. (And If your tap water is drinkable.) Take your bottle with you to the bathroom when you go brush your teeth. Keep a cup in the bathroom if you have space. Drink a cup, fill your water bottle. Keep your bottle within arm's reach (or in any case, in sight).

Make it as easy for yourself as you can / take away as many obstacles as you can. The psychological part of creating habits is tough enough, don't have your environment working against you as well :D (Speaking from experience.)

• Like 5

Thanks everyone!

Analoggirl thanks for the suggestions! I'll definitely have to try that with the water bottle. I've been reading a lot of books about building habits lately, but I hadn't figured out a way to increase my water intake. I'm at about 7-8 cups a day right now.