• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

JessOfAllTrades

JessOfAllTrades Rebuilts Structure

Oh, hi all. I just recently posted on the respawn board and figured why not try a challenge?

I think I was a Druid before my last NF hiatus. I've dabbled in Assassin, spent quite some time with the Rangers, and now I'm here because the pandemic has taken away a whole lot of the structure in my life and that's no good for a chaotic, executively dysfunctional person like myself. So I'm here while I work on rebuilding and redefining my structures and routines, even though this current moment will not be the way of things forever.

Since this is my first time back in over two years, and I am still learning how to cope with my new "normal," this is going to be a very basic, baby-step kind of challenge. I hope to be able to increase my goals as I go, but I know me. I'm a notorious over-promising, all-in type of person the first few weeks, then I stop once my willpower runs out. So this won't be much, but its a start on rebuilding some structure in my life as I try to adapt to my new normal for the rest of my school year.

1)  Get those steps
Getting my 10k steps was pretty easy at work. A major part of my job was monitoring hallways, going to classrooms, and generally running around a giant high school to check up on kids and break up fights. But now? i'm lucky if I get anywhere near 5k, because I'm just not moving as much. I'm usually between 1000 and 2000. Sure, if I go for a walk I can do a bit better, but convincing myself to go outside since our weather has been wonky (Maryland was under a freeze advisory as I write this), it is so easy to just. Not. Do. It. So that needs to change. I want to get back up to 10k, but I think it needs to be a process for me. I want to aim for 5k the first week, everyday, and reassess from there. Hopefully I can continue to bump it up as I hit my goal.

Week 1: Hit 5k steps 5/7 days