Hihihi! .. i'm super shy, so be nice! .. looking for encouragement, fitness for emotional well-being

Hello fellow nerds, short-time lurking, but from what I've seen this is a -very- nice place! .. You should all be so proud! (hats off! pats on the back to all of you!)

First off: I want to take care of myself.  I *think* I'm in the right place.  I googled "fitness guides for nerds" and ta-da, here I am. :)  I like the forum aspect, wow how you all encourage ea other; abs amazing!  I want to be a part of that, and I think one reason I cannot consistently fitness is I don't have a good support group (or one at all).  So hello motivators, don't be afraid to push me!

About me: Total total nerd; you are in like company if you identify as such!  I love computers, the internet, some anime, etc. Engineer by profession. .. Fit, but not an athlete, if that makes sense.  I move around, but I haven't been to a gym (before this year) since about 2007.  (eep).  With winter coming (I'm in New England USA) I'm worried I'll be slacking and not moving as much as I should (I also have a new desk job, that is very sedentary). .. I'm also a bit of a string-bean, Male age 40, 5'8" (1.72m), 138lbs wet (62.6kgs).  I would lovelovelove to bulk up my arms and wrists a bit, to have a little more strength there, and who wouldn't want a stronger core too? .. My legs, I think, are probably my strongest/best part.

What I do now for exercise: Kayak in summer, like a lot, a lot.  Climb a 5k foot (1500m) mountain 1-2 times a year.  Bike 10+ miles (16km) about 5 times a year. .. Other than kayaking, nothing is consistent. .. I love to cook, so I tend to eat well, very balanced, in fact usually vegan twice a week, but I get enough protein, etc.  So diet I'm not too worried about.  [I also have CKD, so diet watching is kind of mandatory].