Adash embraces the process, learns to show up, and fights for consistency

Looking forward to this New Year. I think I was last posting here consistently in 2018 but it died down because I failed to specify a process for posting.

What brings me back?

Well I have recently decided to scale back on my social media use so posting to Facebook or IG for accountability is not something I plan to do. So it is maybe better to find accountability in a community of like minded people for the specific purpose of improvement with a bunch of nerds.

What brand of nerd am I?

I am very much in love with anime. One Punch Man, Demon Slayer, Haikyu. Currently watching Jujutsu Kaisen, Attack on Titan final season, and Fire Force. I work as a software developer in the games industry and love playing them too. Currently playing Fall Guys and Far Cry 5. I am also a nerd in the way of niche sports. The least niche of which is partner dancing (been doing that for 8 years now, COVID19 ruined this of course). The most niche is unicycle hockey. I also dabbled in bike polo. And recently started playing frisbee golf. I also love boardgames (another thing ruined by COVID19).

Recent Inspirations/Motivations

Recently I have been reinvigorated by The 7 Habits by Stephen Covey (I have only read the first 2 habits) and recently finished Atomic Habits by James Clear (I am also pretty sure that Nerd Fitness is referenced in the book :)...). There is a quote in Atomic Habits I want to embrace for this challenge,

You can't scale up a habit you don't have (paraphrased)

- James Clear

So the habits are going to be small laughable pieces to build up a healthy lifestyle. Laughable in the sense that doing them is not overwhelming.

The Habits

Bike Trainer: [Mon-Fri] after I wake up get on my road bike for 15 minutes ensuring my heart rate goes above 120 BPM.

Workout: [Mon, Wed, Fri] after biking, 10 weighted squats, 10 pushups, 30 second plank.